Let’s get outside..in the sunshine

“We will open the book. Its pages are blank. We are going to put words on them ourselves. The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.”
― Edith Lovejoy Pierce

I love the Gold Coast. Especially over the holidays. It’s so nice to see people getting outside, spending time on the beach, enjoying time with family, using their beach houses, opening their doors to welcome in the beautiful fresh sea air and stunning sunshine. Even despite the husband or wife who was dragged down to the beach and bring his visitor the hangover with him – there are still so many happy smiley faces – its nice to see the optimisim on everybody’s faces. The smile of oppourtunity  for the coming year on their faces shining through their tiredness from the night before. But really, how can you not smile when you are at the beach, the waves are good, you have soaked yourself in the salt water and the sun is out in it’s full glory – I know I had a pretty big smile on my face  looking at this view (no editing – the water really was that blue today 🙂

Elephant Rock, Gold Coast, Queensland

Elephant Rock, Gold Coast, Queensland

We had a lovely get-together last night to welcome in the new year. A few special loved ones, punch and a sausage sizzle – what more could you ask for? B and I both against odds made it up to Midnight. Glad we did too, not just because our friends might not have liked us as much if we didn’t, but also because we could see the fireworks from our backyard – I know exciting right ?

So, in other interesting news, we are all booked in for our first camping trip of 2013 ! It’s at the beach… which is excellent because I am seriously considering making my new years resolution to squeeze as much beach time into 2013 as possible, so 3 whole sleeps at the beach should help me clock up a bit of time with my big blue friend the ocean.

What’s your New Years Resolution?

 

 

Leave a comment