Things I Love #7 – Birthdays of Loved Ones

Birthday’s are fantastic fun. Especially when they belong to somebody else. A double especially when it’s somebody you love very much – because lets be honest you get to celebrate just as much as them anyway! 

It was B’s birthday on the weekend. So I thanked him many times for having a birthday, cause a weekend away was just what I needed! 

B is hard to buy gifts for. It’s not just because he is particular about the things he owns and likes to cull often and with brutality. Having just blended two homes into one, it’s a tough gig for me to justify all of the lovely things that ask me to bring them home from the shops like homeless puppies. I  like to think that my present buying ability is something to brag about (perhaps I should pop this on my resume?) but he outdoes me big time. Men are often not so amazing at it, so he gets double points for his great gifts. He really thinks about what to get me, things that I have unintentionally dropped in conversation over a year and things I wanted, but couldn’t justify. Isn’t that the point of a gift – something lovely and luxe and unreasonable that you wouldn’t buy yourself? He is also very selfless and always giving to other people, always making sure that it’s not about him – to the point of distraction, so I love getting it right for him on his birthday, it’s one of the only chances I have without him interfering.  So, the task was set – something thoughtful, personal, useful, luxurious, unreasonable and impressive – no biggie (eeeeekkk!) 

I wandered the shops all day in a daze – drove to other shopping centres – shook my head at alot of (what would normally seem like excellent) suggestions from lovely helpful sales assistants and eventually settled on some french stuff. Thank my lucky stars he loved it – and in true birthday style, I get to enjoy all of it too – double win. 

We spent the weekend in lovely Broken Head, which is in the Byron Bay area – also known as one of my favourites. It’s a lovely little quiet camping ground which has a ‘locals only’ feel about it. So for a few days, we pretended to be locals. I even managed to organise some sunshine. This might not seem so extraordinary, but here on the Gold Coast, we have endured what can only be described as never ending rain. Weather here has been abysmal and mother nature has some serious explaining to do. BUT against all odds the sun came out the whole time we were there – like a little pocket of clear skies above us only! It’s amazing how much impact the sun has – people were instantly cheerier and kept looking up at the sky in awe. Strangers on the street were talking to each other about how great it was – such a lovely happy grateful simplistic vibe. 

So I could ramble a little more about our weekend adventures, but I wanted to share a little simple treasure I found in Bangalow (another lovely little nook in Northern NSW – if you haven’t visited before, get yourself there). When it was home coming day, we town hopped. First stop was Utopia Cafe in Bangalow – everything in Bangalow is lovely, but this place I loved especially because they had yellow coffee cups and I love yellow. it’s such a bright happy colour and there should be more of it around – because there isn’t, I took a pic to share with you all:

Image

Finally – to come back to the theme of birthday’s I will break one of my rules and use a shakespeare quote, cause it was a rather romantic weekend and it’s nice to reflect on getting older in a romantic celebratory way – as they should be: 

“With mirth and laughter let old wrinkles come.” 
― William Shakespeare

 

Leave a Reply

