Motivation and broken legs

My motivation – it got a bit killed. I was all geared up and 100% focused at reaching a new, very achievable, very simple goal. All I had to do was put one put in front of the other, rinse and repeat.

Then, there was this little tiny pain in my leg which slowly but surely got worse and (unlike me I will cut a long story short) now I’m temporarily banned from running. My first treatment plan (head in the sand and just give it a couple of days – it will go away) strategy, was a fail. This is my usual go-to plan.

At this point, I should clarify, I haven’t quite broken my legs, but to me.. I might as well have!

The second treatment plan – go to the Physio, he gives me a few stretches and we get back to where we left off. Unfortunately Mr Physio didn’t seem to have the same plan. All I heard was ‘you can’t run’, ‘you can’t walk too far’, ‘you can’t use the cross trainer’, ‘you can’t do Body Attack’….I can’t, I can’t, I can’t. So, seeing as these were all the usual things I did, I was left feeling pretty demotivated and disheartened. My whole routine was out of whack. Even after a week of not exercising, I was tired, grumpy and getting headaches.

Instead of focusing on what I couldn’t do, I should have been focusing on what I still CAN do. It’s an opportunity to try something I have never tried before. So instead of posting about how disapointed I am, see a few good corny motivational quotes:

photo photo photo photo photo

Leave a Reply

